Red!

I absolutely love the red on these guys.  The LBMS shield transfers really set these great figures off.

Image

They are Aventine’s Equites Singulares.  When I saw them released I had to have them.  And they do not disappoint – they are some of the nicest figures I’ve ever painted.   They are a breeze to paint too.  There’s a lot of detail but everything is cleanly sculpted.  Check out the detail on these helmets:

Image

And a closeup of the shield transfers also:

Image

Now I’m not sure what I’m going to do with them.  I don’t have a rules set in mind.  I had stuck the first 6 on WRG size bases – 3 horses on a 60mm front – but I really didn’t like the way they looked.  I could make that work, but in the end I decided to put them in pairs on 2″ square bases.  It’s a nice size for them.  As I was painting them I was thinking how tedious it was to paint all that leather, but now that I’m done I couldn’t be happier with them.  And wonder if I should paint another unit of them!

One last photo:

Image

I have some Aventine EIR foot.  Hopefully I’ll find some time to work on them soon.  Not sure how to base them either….

 

Leave a Reply

