Stalingrad Chimney

I need a lot to do Stalingrad.  Figures are a bit of a problem.  I’m not excited about any of the Soviet figures available in 28mm.  I thought Warlord’s plastics were going to do it, but they aren’t great.  I’m using some of the figures in padded jackets from them, but you only get three of them, and although you can put all sorts of head variants and give them different equipment, they still look like 3 different guys.  They are dreadful to put together and take forever to clean up properly.  I like the Crusader figures in tunics but they are really for later in the war.  It appears that both the Crusader and Artizan figures in padded clothes will do for the period and I like them quite a bit, although I’d rather be doing summer figs.

Vehicles are covered pretty well.  It would be nice if someone made a Stug III F but I don’t see that happening.

Terrain will be a challenge.  Fortunately I have a friend who is quite handy!

Image

He made that chimney for me out of mdf.  Now, he has a laser cutter that he used for the etching and cutting.  Isn’t it marvelous?  Here’s a closeup of the front

Image

And of the back

Image

I’ve started painting it just to see how it will look.  After the basics I realized I needed to do more, mainly with a variety of brick colors.  The painting was simple, primed then painted with red brown, then washed with a little white oil paint in a lot of turpenoid.  The white runs in and gives the mortar between the bricks look.  I’m going to go over it all again to put more variety in the bricks and see whether I need to add some weathering.  George of George bases did this and he’s working on a row house for me now.  This will be part of the interior of it.  I can’t wait to see the house.

 

Leave a Reply

