Foundry Late Romans

These are part of an army I painted a very long time ago.  They are Foundry late Romans.  I did them before there were nice shield transfers.  They are very nice figures.

IMG_3920

The legions are painted to depict the Ioviani and the Herculiani, the two most senior legions or something like that.  It’s been so long, I don’t really remember the details.

IMG_3921

I have sometimes thought about doing more but every time I think about it I get stuck thinking about painting the shields by hand, which is a lot of work, or using transfers, which will maybe make the hand painted ones not look so good, and so this is it.

I have a bunch of other stuff in the army, including a bunch of auxilia also with hand painted shields.  Maybe I’ll photograph them also some time.

Leave a Reply

