Aventine Central Asian Cavalry

IMG_4126.JPGI have more of these done also, but this is the first complete group of 12.  They are a mix of Sogdian horse archers, eastern Sassanid command, and steppe nobles.  I bought horses with armor and horses with barding to have a unit of mostly protected horses.  The next unit has none.

These are terrific figures!  They are clean, easy to assemble, and easy to paint.  The horse archers come in several parts with a lot of different attachments.  The lower body and torso are separate so you can pose them firing to whatever angle you would like.  I put mine together to fire mostly forward.  The bow cases are separate so you can go with a case with a strung or unstrung bow.

I intend to use them for a number of Central Asian armies: as a contingent with the Sassanids (what they were designed for by Aventine), as part of an Abbasid army, a Khurasanian army, and, in fact, any cool Central Asian army with a bow armed cavalry contingent.

IMG_4127.JPG

I ordered a bunch of individual packs of Eastern Sassanids, and just a unit pack of the Steppe Nobles.  The Steppe Nobles blew me away – there are 12 different horses in the pack.  12.

I don’t have any criticism of the Aventine figures at all.  The LBMS shield transfers are small for the shields – maybe I’d say really small.  So there is a lot of painting around the edges that is needed.  It’s ok.  It looks a little hinkey on some of the shields, but mostly it’s fine.  The main problem remains my ability to get these kind of transfers centered on the shields.  If I had it to do over I would just use the shields with bosses that come with the steppe nobles – as the bosses center the transfers for free.

Great figures.  I should have the other unit up here in a couple of weeks.  I got 9 of them done in time for the ADLG tournament this weekend, but I think 12 make up a “unit” (not in ADLG terms of course).

IMG_4125.JPG

Now I just wish someone would do some nice central asian heavy infantry….

 

 

Leave a Reply

