Middle Imperial Roman Auxilia

My friend Joe painted a couple of units of Auxilia for me.  These are notionally eastern auxilia units, recently recruited, unarmoured with helmets of local manufacture, but Roman shields.  I used the Aventine Sassanid spearmen standing with the oval Middle Imperial Roman shields.  I think he did a great job painting them, and these are some of my favorite, generally useful figures.

IMG_4166.JPG

I suppose I should name the units.  Each pair of stands, front and back, count as a unit/stand in ADLG, but I kept them on generic WRG/DBM style bases for other potential uses at some point in the future.  I love this particular shield pattern.

IMG_4167.JPG

Here is the other unit.

IMG_4168.JPG

That’s a very busy shield pattern.  It reminds me of shields that were dug up in Dura-Europos.  I think these make fine Eastern auxilia for my Middle Imperial Roman army.

IMG_4169.JPG

I need to get these into a game now.

 

One thought on “Middle Imperial Roman Auxilia

Leave a Reply

