Central Asian Cavalry

I finally finished my second group of Central Asian Cavalry.  Figures are from Aventine.  They are mostly Sogdian horse archers but with some steppe nobles mixed in.

IMG_4179.JPG

These are lovely figures.  This group is on unarmored horses.  For ADLG I will use them as ordinary heavy cavalry (and count the ones on armored horses as elite – when I need to distinguish between the two).  The shield transfers are from Little Big Men.

IMG_4180.JPG

These are great figures.  Painting them is quite a bit of work.  You want some kind of pattern on their clothes, the bow cases, the quivers.  I’ve done something on all of that.  I’d like to have the skill to put really detailed patterns on all the clothes but I’ve added something on each that is kind of true to the local patterns.

I have some Sogdian lancers from Aventine I’d like to do up as well, but after I finish a couple of stands of Perry Arab cav I’m going to take a break from Central Asian stuff and focus on the War of the Roses for awhile.

 

Leave a Reply

