York

I spent some time finishing the basing on a lot of figures, so there should be a few updates coming fairly quickly.  Basing is the thing about this hobby I just can’t warm to.  So I save it for a long time and then just buckle down and do a whole bunch all at once.  Anyway, here is the Duke of York’s men-at-arms.

IMG_4241.JPG

Three stands of men-at-arms.  That is the Duke on the stand on the right.  I painted his heraldy by hand.  It came out well, but perhaps not well enough to photograph up close.  These figures are from the Perry men-at-arms box.  The flags and livery badges are from Citadel Six.

Here’s another pic:

IMG_4242.JPG

They are based on 60 wide by 30 deep Georgo mdf bases.  This size is suitable for any wrg system games and I plan to use it for A Coat of Steel.  The size of York’s retinue in ACoS is 3 stands of men-at-arms and 9 stands of retinue archers.  Here are the archers.

IMG_4248.JPG

Again 60×30 bases.  I really like the livery flags so I put a stand with one of those on for every stand without one.

IMG_4250.JPG

A couple of these livery standard bearers are figures from the kit-bashing I talked about in my last post.  Here are some close-ups of those.  All of them are built up from WotR infantry bodies but with arms from the Light Cavalry set.  The first one was pretty straight-forward, adding a shield from one of the Perry sets.  The guy to the right of the standard bearer is testing the wind.  I had to build up a bit under the arm to get it to look natural like that.  I just trimmed off some sprue and added it in with plastic glue, then a little filler afterwards to smooth it out.

 

IMG_4257.JPGIMG_4256.JPG

The next one is straightforward also.  The guy to his right is going for more arrows and I imagine he’s yelling at him to get back in line as it’s time to stop shooting and come to blows.  I love the banner.  You can see how I painted around it on the photo though that contrast is hardly apparent outside the photograph.

IMG_4254.JPG

IMG_4255.JPG

And this is the one that was really a lot of work.  The right arm comes from the light cavalry.  The left arm is made up from three pieces from the light cavalry (with the brigandine on the shoulder), not sure where I got the elbow, a hand from the men-at-arms and the mace from one of the command sprues.  I think it turned out fine.

IMG_4253.JPG

img_4252

Now I remember that the join on the left arm was a little tough to get right and I lost some detail when I filled it, but it seems ok now that it’s painted.  I love York’s blue and white livery with the dragon on it.

2 thoughts on “York

Leave a Reply

